***Flawless Feminist – Beyoncé on Why Gender Equality is a Myth

Queen Bey isn’t just the world’s leading pop and R&B superstar; she’s also an essayist. Beyoncé wrote for The Shriver Report, which is a publication that examines woman’s stance in society. Her essay, Gender Equality is a Myth!is a frank wakeup call to everyone that society isn’t done addressing the ideas of woman’s rights. 

This is also seen in her surprise self-titled album, Beyoncé. ***Flawless, features an excerpt from a TEDxTalk by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie titled, We should all be feminists Feminist is such a harsh word. For me, it has always had a negative connotation. However, especially last semester, learning about how women are still not being treated fairly, whether it be socially or with jobs I’ve learned that being a feminist shouldn’t have a negative connotation. We as women should still be fighting for what’s right. I can’t grow up in a world where even if I do more work than my male counterpart, he gets the credit. I can’t live always seeing myself in competition with a man because I am always having to prove myself, when he doesn’t have to. People are fighting for equality still in the year 2014. Just because everything in the world seems progressive that doesn’t mean it is. People have gotten lazy, and we need to educate our boys and our girls so that equality can soon be a reality. We need to educate each other. 

My friends and I were so hype when Beyoncé dropped her surprise album. It was a huge relief to not have Bangerz as the album that young girls idolized in 2013. Bey’s album is honest, well-spoken, and the jam at parties. When you get ready in the morning, put on ***Flawless by Beyoncé. I don’t know about you but I feel like a strong black women that can stand on her two feet all by herself. And that’s how every girl should feel.BeyonceChimamandaFlawlessFeminism

2 thoughts on “***Flawless Feminist – Beyoncé on Why Gender Equality is a Myth

  1. I love this post! I understand that Beyonce isn’t perfect, and that even her new album has a lot of flaws – the entire Jay Z part in Drunk in Love for example – but it’s awesome that people are giving her credit where it’s due. She’s always been a role model of mine, and I’m glad that she’s also putting awareness out there for black feminist authors.

    • I totally agree! There are some songs that I don’t like but some I love, I’ve always been a huge Beyonce fan! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

