Grammys Lovin’

Man, I love the Grammys. Seriously, I have this thing for award shows where, my whole schedule revolves around them. It’s pretty unhealthy. I love the fashion, the performances, the surprises. So great. So great. I didn’t know whether I wanted to talk about fashion, or the performances, or the actual winners itself, so…I am just going to talk about all the things I loved! 

Here is my Grammys Love List (in no particular order)

Jay-Z and Beyonce’s Performance 

Image

 

Queen Bey and Jay-Z were absolute fire in this opening number. I, admittedly, have a love-hate relationship with Drunk in Love, but the song did not ride my nerves yesterday. They had a lot of chemistry on stage and I was jammin’ to the song the whole time. Everyone on twitter was whiney saying Beyonce’s hair looked like a wet mop but haters will hate. I assume she was going off of her Drunk in Love video with her hair, but thats just me guessing. All in all, Bey and Jay were ***Flawless.

P!nk and Nate Ruess’ Performance 

Image

 

If I could have thighs like P!nk, I’d be a powerhouse. Her swinging around on those ropes and dropping low to the crowd was amazing. I have always found P!nk so inspirational. She sings songs about her personal experiences and more importantly her mistakes. She’s not afraid to be vulnerable to her fans and she’s pretty badass. She just does her thing. I fell in love with Fun. around last year, after the Top40 ate up their hit We Are Young. I started listening to their albums Some Nights and Aim and Ignite and I was in love. Their vibe is great and I love their lyricism. Just Give Me a Reason was my favorite song for a long time so I am so glad this song wasn’t forgotten in all of the August – December hype that happened in music this year. 

Bruno Mars Wins Best Pop Vocal Album

Image

 

Guys…..I just adore Bruno Mars. Unorthodox Jukebox and Do-Wops and Hooligans are both great albums. I think this was well deserved for Bruno. I am SO excited to see him perform at the Superbowl ( I may or may not have his Superbowl Poster hanging in my room…). He also dedicated his Grammy to his mother who recently passed away. Much love to you Bruno, much love.

John Legend’s Performance 

Image

 

John Legend came to my school for a lecture which was super inspirational. He talked about following your dreams and fighting for what you want. He also sang All Of Me which melted my heart, which is why he made my list. I felt his performance was super underrated at the Grammys this year! I don’t know if it’s because he performed kind of early in the show or what but he needs his shoutout. He is a beautiful man who seems to defy the laws of aging, so you go with your sultry performance John Legend. 

LL Cool J Hosting the Grammys

Image

 

I actually heard no word at all of LL Cool J hosting the Grammys. When he walked on stage at the beginning of the show, I thought he got lost and for some reason found himself on the main stage. All in all though, he did a wonderful job hosting. There was no weird, racist, unethical, drama that needed to be disputed. Props to you Cool J. 

Lorde

Image

 

I love her music. Pure Heroin speaks the TRUTH about main stream media and there hasn’t been an album released in a while that really makes you think. Lorde kind of looked like an old lady during her performance and accepting her award, but I think that’s kind of her look. I say rock it Lorde. Rock it. 

Kendrick Lamar and Imagine Dragons Performance 

Image

 

This performance was magnificent! At first it was a tad weird, because I didn’t know how this mash-up was going to work, but then…it WORKED. My favorite performance of the night, hands down.

The Maleficent Movie Trailer 

Image

 

Lana Del Ray’s Haunting rendition of Once Upon a Dream and Angelina Jolie’s razor sharp cheek bones? Enough said. I cannot wait for this movie. The Disney Geek in me went WILD when this trailer came on my TV during the commercials … so it had to go on my Grammy list.

Macklemore, Ryan Lewis, Madonna, and Queen Latifah 

Image

 

They married 34 couples at the Grammys (who knew The Queen was ordained ??) and it was a sight to see! History was made as gay and straight couples alike tied the knot during Macklemore and Ryan Lewis’ Same Love. I think it’s important that straight and gay couples were married on the stage. Same Love isn’t a Gay Marriage anthem, but an anthem for everyone, and I think that point was finally made yesterday. Fun Fact: Ryan Lewis’s sister and fiancé got married yesterday at the Grammys!

 

Here is my little list of everything that I loved (and can remember!) from the Grammys last night! Let me know if you loved some performances and moments that I didn’t list on here or if you agree with me!

Leave a Reply

