Eating Healthy Was Not Part of the Game Plan

So I’ve been changing some if my habits to feel better about myself this year. I embodied the New Year, New Me phrase that everyone scoffed at on January 1st. I’m taking my resolution to be a healthier, happier, and better person quite seriously. I let my family and friends know about how I planned on changing my mindset because I was excited and could really use the support. This is going to be my year, and even if I have nothing extraordinary planned, I am going to make something extraordinary happen.

Going to the gym is part of this New Year, New Me kick. With going to the gym, kind of also entails eating healthier. That was not on my list of things to change about myself….UGH. But if I’m going to go to the gym, I should at least try to not eat garbage food because it cancels out the workout. When I came to that realization I kind of grunted.

Then I thought, I don’t need to change my whole eating habits and eat like a rabbit. Start slow. So now I swap out one unhealthy snack, for a healthy snack everyday. That’d a good start I think. I go for a bag of chips. Pause. Think. Then I get Chex Mix instead. It’s still yummy and filling, but it’s better for me than those Doritos I was eyeing. It’s been almost 3 weeks and now I’m eating Chex mix and apples ( I think I’m allergic to apples…my throat and ears get itchy after eating them….maybe I’ll lay off the apples). I get salads for dinner and I like spinach. I’m not a lost cause when it comes to eating healthy some of the stuff is pretty delicious. But I’m just glad I moved at my own pace with this and learned for myself.

Don’t get me wrong, I still love fast food and cookies are still what makes the world go ’round. I just think my body will thank me later if I trade in my cookies for a banana a couple times. If I have a craving for chips and salsa, a craving that can only be satisfied with chips and salsa, then I’m going to eat the chips and salsa. I’m not gonna deny myself salt because it’s bad for me. It’ll just drive me crazy. Then when I finally give into temptation, I’m gonna binge on chips and salsa and feel awful about myself. If you have a craving for something a little bad for you, just eat it. I promise your body won’t hate you. It’ll actually like you. A lot.

It is super important to me that I’m not absolutely miserable during my New Year, New Me endeavor. Because then I won’t do it. I’ll go back to complaining and whining and that’s no fun. That is a part of me I would like to change. So I am.

This is by no means a DIET. Ugh. Gross. Detest. Loathe. I just hate the word. I’m not trying to lose weight. I don’t really need to lose weight. And I don’t need people hanging over my shoulder watching what I eat to keep me on track. I can do that myself. I’m making positive changes to feel better about myself and my body. That’s all there is to it.
If you’re trying to change how you eat, I say take baby steps. If you change all of your main meals to broccoli and lean meat you’ll just drive yourself nuts (nuts…a good source of protein. I actually have no idea I read that somewhere I think… But I digress). Take baby steps and follow your own schedule. You’ll be surprised by how disciplined you actually are. I know I was .

20140129-203544.jpg

Leave a Reply

