Breakfast, Lunch, and Even Dinner at Tiffany’s

If you were alive from 2012 to present day, you’ll know that  Audrey Hepburn is a huge film and pop culture icon. There is a huge Audrey Hepburn picture in my dining commons and my friend has her poster up in her dorm room. I asked my friend with the poster what Breakfast at Tiffany’s was about. I’ve never seen the movie so I was curious as to what all the hype was about. She told me that she’s never seen it before, she just likes the poster. Now you can imagine my face when she told me she hasn’t seen the movie. Imagine how many people have that Audrey Hepburn poster hanging on their walls and they haven’t even seen the movie. What on Earth? I feel like that’s cheating.  Maybe it’s just me, but how can you like something or think you like someone, and you don’t even know what it is that they do or haven’t seen any of their work? 

Image

I won’t even lie, I thought her name was Aubrey Hepburn until a few weeks ago. 

There is no better friend on a freezing cold night than Netflix. And wouldn’t you know, Breakfast at Tiffany’s was in my New Releases tab. Why not?

Breakfast at Tiffany’s was the longest movie in the whole entire universe. Okay I’m being melodramatic but I didn’t expect the movie to be so long at all. I haven’t watched an old movie in a really long time, so once I got into it, It was pretty cute. Here are some things I learned about Breakfast at Tiffany’s that I didn’t know before watching the movie. Spoiler Alert. 

Audrey Hepburn’s Name in the Movie is Not Tiffany

Image

 

Audrey Hepburn plays Holly Golightly (or Lula Mae Barnes, if you’ve seen the movie you’ll get it). Holly is chatty, charismatic, lost, and actually quite adorable. There were some parts in the movie when i was like “God girl what are you doing!” but I couldn’t help giggle at her little habits and mantras. She is a character that takes what life gives to her and (tries) to handle it with class.

Tiffany’s Refers to Tiffany and Co.

Image

 

Ah yes. Every girls dream. I guess that’s why Holly liked it so much. That girl dreamed like her life depended on it. Maybe because it did. I mean, if I’m having a bad day, I wouldn’t mind stopping by Tiffany’s. Wouldn’t you?

It’s a Love Story!

Image

 

Isn’t that cute! I actually really did have no idea. I didn’t really know what this movie was about before watching it actually. I probably just thought it was a movie about Audrey Hepburn and her ginormous cigarette. But anyway. Paul loves Holly and I kind of feel like she walks/stomps all over him. But that’s only because she’s trying to figure everything out…Poor Holly. But they do develop this adorable cute relationship. It’s not full of sex and raunchy language. I kind of miss this kind of innocence in romance when portrayed in adults. It’s not cutesy either. If it was corny and unrealistic, then their relationship would be a drag, but she helps him just as much as he helps her. Holly isn’t this lost girl in New York City (well she is…but whatever), she gets him to follow his passions, just like how she follows hers. Gotta love mutual relationships! 

It’s Sad!

Image

 

This part was actually crazy. The acting in it. You would never see today this kind of reaction to a death. Or at least I haven’t. She trashed everything it was the complete polar opposite of her character that always seemingly has everything together. She’d break here or there, and shed a few tears but nothing that couldn’t be solved with a drink, but this part, it resonated with me. The most shocking part was, right after in her next scene, she seems to be all skippy and jolly again. There was no grieving period. If I was a Psychology major I’d go bananas and analyze Holly’s behavior and all that. Maybe someone more skilled in that field can and get back to me, something to think about.

Cat’s Name is Cat

Image

 

I just thought that was hysterical. He doesn’t belong to her, and she doesn’t belong to him, so he is just Cat. It lets you in on what kind of person Holly is from the beginning. She loves all of these material things, all of these kinds of possessions, but when it comes to taking ownership and forming relationships, this is where she lacks. I’m not a cat person….but Cat was pretty adorable.

All in all I did like Breakfast at Tiffany’s. Did I love it? To be determined, but I can see why everyone loves Audrey Hepburn and her character…even if they don’t know why they love her because they’ve never seen the movie…

Audrey Hepburn is a lot more than diamonds and pearls, but so is every girl, and that’s a great message. 

Leave a Reply

