Internship Scavenger Hunt

Now that I am a second semester sophomore, I can feel my chest tighten and my breathing get shorter. Yeah, It’s Internship season. I am horrified of interviews and I think my resume needs to be chainsawed and re-written about a hundred more times. I don’t exactly know what I want to do yet. I don’t want to be insanely picky about the places I apply, but I don’t want to end up doing something I hate. I want to intern for a magazine. Or at least that’s where I have been looking. America’s Next Top Model got me hooked on Nylon Magazine and any girl who says they don’t read Cosmo is a liar, don’t be ashamed. Blogging and the writing class I am taking this semester have improved my writing skills a lot and I know by the summer I will be even better. I’m going to an Internship Workshop tomorrow so hopefully this will help steer me in the right direction. 

Last year, I was very hell bent on being an intern. I didn’t even know what I wanted to do. My grandpa works in the city so he gave my resume to a couple of people in his department. It was actually quite stressful. I would get calls and emails and phone interviews, but everyone said the same thing. That I have an impressive resume, but that I was still just a freshman, so they don’t have anything for me yet. Bummer.

Since Study Abroad didn’t work out the way I wanted it too, an internship wouldn’t be such a bad gig. Last summer I worked all hours into the night in retail and thats a black hole I never want to go back to. This is me taking charge trying to do things that I want to do. On top of all of the school work I have to do and blogging I love to do, I’ll be internship hunting. It’s crunch time. 

If you have any suggestions about internships or how to land an awesome internship let me know! I have horrible anxiety so any bit of advice really does help! 

Image

Leave a Reply

