Just Read: Eleanor & Park

So this title is actually a little misleading, because I finished this book a little while ago…but move past that fact.

I am a sucker for a good love story. Yes, I did go through my phase of Young Adult novels and of course those are full of love and happy endings. Jodi Picoult and John Green will always have a special place in my heart. Now that I am getting older though, I am also becoming slightly more cynical when it comes to things I’ve always thought were perfect and simple, like love. I don’t feel happy when I read about the guy getting the girl in the end anymore because I know sometimes that just doesn’t happen.

I haven’t actually done my research, so I’m not 100% sure is Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell is a YA novel, but I do know that this was the most raw love story I have read in such a long time. There was a build up. They didn’t hate each other in the beginning, they felt nothing. They made each other uncomfortable. Slowly they grew a relationship and then slowly and completely, they fell in love. I feel like that doesn’t happen anymore. The slowly part. We are all so fast paced, that falling in love now requires no time.

The characters were wonderful. Eleanor is this overweight red head who wears mens clothing, and Park is a little, quiet, half-Asian boy who shys away from all of his friends. They’re not perfect, beautiful people who fall in love with their imperfections that they find in each other. They’re something interesting about that cliche. Maybe it’s just me but if I love you, and their is something that you do that constantly bothers me, I don’t love that about you. If it irks me, why would I. Maybe this is just some growing that needs to be done on my part, because that’s part of loving someone completely, you’ve got to love everything.

The plot is pretty heavy. The end of the book had my heart pounding and racing. The ending left me, not completely torn apart, but my heart was heavy as I finished the book. The ending is not what you expect it to be, but I won’t give it away!

I’m not a person who reads books over and over again, but this is a story I will definitely come back to. Love isn’t just a story, but it’s a lesson as well, and this novel taught me that.

“You saved me life, she tried to tell him. Not forever, not for good. Probably just temporarily. But you saved my life, and now I’m yours. The me that’s me right now is yours. Always.”

Image

 

Leave a Reply

