The Selfie Debate

“I’m definitely pro-selfie. I think that anybody who’s anti-selfie is really just a hater, because, truthfully, why shouldn’t people take pictures of themselves? when I’m on instagram and I see that somebody took a picture of themselves, I’m like, ‘thank you.’ I don’t need to see a picture of the sky, the trees, plants. there’s only one you. I could google image search ‘the sky’ and I would probably see beautiful images to knock my socks off. but i can’t google, you know, ‘what does my friend look like today?’ for you to be able to take a picture of yourself that you feel good enough about to share with the world – I think that’s a great thing.”
– Ezra Koenig

Believe it or not, there is a debate about the selfie. People are pro/anti selfie and both sides raise an interesting point. While people see selfies as just another way for this generation to be even more self absorbed with themselves or as another distraction from other things going on in the world that are more important than a picture of your face, I have to say that I am definitely pro-selfie.

With the whole issue of self-image and self-esteem and not thinking your pretty enough or good enough to do that, it’s important to not only love yourself but love your selfie! I’ve learned that when it comes to learning to love yourself, I also need to learn to love other people. The quote I posted above captures my mindset perfectly. If you are someone who posts 124,731,341 selfies on Instagram every day, I say go for it! And if you are one of those people who hate on the people who post their daily selfie, then you should learn to love your own selfie! I wish I had the nerve to post an #OOTD all day, every day, just to show how incredibly happy I was in the morning after I got ready for the day. I wish I could be like WOW and snap a quick pic and move on.

My family is embracing the selfie lifestyle. My dad is the King of Selfies and my brother is the King of Mirror Selfies. Taking a selfie is an art, you guys need to understand, and my family is becoming the rulers of this new found domain of self expression. During every kind of special event we do gather and huddle for the Group Family Selfie and it’s awesome. Learning to love your selfie is great if you have a strong family support system, so if you’re learning to love your selfie, don’t be afraid to snap a selfie with your dad and mom! Get them on the bandwagon and you guys could be Selfie Royalty just like my family.

In a generation that is yes, becoming a little more egocentric, we are also lifting each other up as a community to love ourselves more and embrace our looks and our personalities. We embrace our outer appearances and our inner beauty because we are slowly teaching ourselves how beautiful we are.

In honor of Loving Your Selfie, here are some of mine, now go share yours!

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

Leave a Reply

