Academy Awards: Red Carpet Rewind

Image

After summer, award show season is the best season around. The best of the best award shows were on last night, the Academy Awards. I live for these things, I told my friends I couldn’t go out because I knew the red carpet would be playing at 5:30. I have a serious problem.

I love watching the Red Carpet. My friend told me it’s “a bunch of beautiful people in one room” and it really is. The fashion is just fabulous. It would be a dream come true if I could cover a Red Carpet event. I don’t know, a girl can dream. Here are some of my favorites from the Red Carpet.   

Lupita Nyong’o 

Image

 

She was absolutely stunning on the Red Carpet. She is so humble and well spoken. When asked about the pop of color in this Prada dress, Nyong’o said that it reminded her of her home in Nairobi, which made my heart swell. Now every time I see this color all I’m going to think of is Nairobi Blue, but I’m pretty okay with that. Also if you’re looking for great shots of Nyong’o check her out in Dazed and Confused. I can’t wait to see more of Lupita in the future. 

Image

 

Lupita Nyong’o wins Best Supporting Actress 

 

Jared Leto

Image

 

Jared Leto was also a Red Carpet favorite for me. I put it on my To-Do list to see Dallas Buyers Club because I need to see him in it. I admittedly don’t know anything about him. All I know is that the internet literally exploded when this guy took the screen. His acceptance speech when he said his mom was his best friend and rock made me want to call my own mother right then and there (she was asleep though, I’ll call her later today). White/Ivory and a lot of neutral tones were the wave on the Red Carpet this season, but his little splash of red with the bow tie is so fun and wonderful. All I know is that I need to check this guy out. You can’t argue with a guy who knows how to ombre. 

Jennifer Lawrence 

Image

 

My opinion on Jennifer Lawrence is always wavering. I get the whole quirky, awkward, look-how-relatable-I-am persona but she needs to learn to walk in heels and stop falling all over the place. Keep it together girl. With that being said however, I thought she looked stunning in this Dior number. Red always looks wonderful on her and the little peplum on the side is a nice touch. I also love her hair. I don’t have anything technical to say about that, I just love what she did with her hair. I admire her for the fact that she didn’t stay stuck in the Hunger Games rut and she proved that her acting skills go beyond Katniss very early in the game. If she just dropped the act, I’d warm up to her a little bit.

Kerry Washington

Image

 

A scandalous ( see what I did there) Kerry Washington looked absolutely radiant on the Red Carpet. She is oh so pregnant but her baby bump and pregnant glow just makes her even more wonderful to look at. I can’t wait for baby Olivia Pope to be born. I love this plum color on her lovely bronze skin tone with her silver studded heals. Also, Black Women in Dark Lipstick, I am so glad this is a movement.

Olivia Wilde and Jason Sudeikis 

Image

 

I adore this couple. Olivia Wilde and Jason Sudeikis should at least be nominated for Prettiest People. Wilde wowed in a black Valentino dress with an added baby bump and Sudeikis looked quite dapper in his blue Prada tuxedo and added facial scruff. The baby is due May 4th, so their joke is May the 4th Be With You and that is just adorable. Star Wars fans Unite!

Will Smith and Jada Pinkett Smith

Image

 

Will Smith was literally my dad on the Red Carpet. Talking up the camera man and reminiscing on the Red Carpet like it was a family party and not the Academy Awards. But then he manages to say the right things when asked the tough questions. When asked how it feels to be on the Red Carpet, Smith immediately replied “humbled.” Gotta love Will Smith. Jada also looked quite lovely in this coral number, but she wasn’t witty like her husband on the Red Carpet so I have no long winded thing to say about her, sorry Jada.

 

Here is a slideshow of the rest of my favorites from the Red Carpet! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

