Relay For Life!

This weekend was Penn State’s Relay For Life. We all went to the baseball field, tent, blankets, and positive attitudes in hand, and dedicated 24 hours to walking the field to raise awareness and money for the American Cancer Society. I love Relay for Life. Back in high school, I would participate, but that’s about it, I was just a member really. When I got to college and found out we had a Relay For Life event here, I was ecstatic. I wanted to be more involved here in college than I was when I was younger. I started my own Relay For Life team with my friends here at school my freshman year, and I am so glad they decided to stick with my crazy, captain, self again this year.

Saturday afternoon was freezing. I had on three pairs of pants, a long sleeve, two sweatshirts, a jacket, a hat, and gloves. I can honestly say, we did not think it would get that cold this weekend. But we persevered! We still walked for miles (I walked 16 miles this weekend!) and had our OnSite Fundraiser! We made and sold little Cancer Awareness ribbons. They were easy to make, but everyone really appreciated them. It’s amazing to see how many different cancer ribbons people ask for. Each ribbon symbolized a story of how they were affected by cancer. One of our customers was a Leukemia survivor. He has been in remission for 6 months and that touched my heart. He’s here at Relay For Life, continuing his fight against cancer. 

Regardless of the cold, wind and sore muscles, Relay For Life is still my favorite time of the year. This event will always have a special place in my heart, because I Relay for my family and my friends. I relay to Celebrate my friends and family. To Remember those who have lost their battle, and to Fight Back against the disease so that we can all live in a world with more birthdays. 

 

Leave a Reply

