What Do You Want to Do Before You Die?

Yesterday was quite spontaneous I have to say. When I woke up that morning, I didn’t think that in a couple of hours, I would be meeting The Buried Life. I know what you’re thinking, and yeah, you thought right.

The Buried Life was giving a presentation in one of our buildings on the way west side of campus. How could Cara and I just not jump on that opportunity? We Carpe’d some Diem and went to the presentation, got the best seats in the house, and I am really glad I went.

For those of you who don’t know, The Buried Life had a show on MTV where they would cross these outrageous things off of their bucket list. What I like about them is that, with every item they cross off their list, they make it a point to help a stranger cross something off of their list. Now that’s awesome.

The presentation was great, they talked about how they got started and how all of this was just an idea. The Buried Life is an 1852 poem by Matthew Arnold, which I didn’t know and I loved that (the literature nerd in me). Here’s a little excerpt. 

But often, in the world’s most crowded streets,
But often, in the din of strife,
There rises an unspeakable desire
After the knowledge of our buried life

There’s that fear of death and the desire to live your life to the fullest that’s really admirable about The Buried Life project. I want to do so much, and since I am taking control of my life now, I love the notion that I can go out and do anything, no matter what people say or how impossible it looks. So I guess that begs the question, what do you want to do before you die?

Image

Got a signed picture! I forgive Jonnie for spelling my name wrong

Image

There were so many people for the Meet and Greet that we all took group shots, so this is me, The Buried Life, and some fans (all the pictures the guy took were blurry too…sigh)

Image

This is me selfishly cropping out the whole crowd because I got to stand next to Dave. He was awesome to chat with.

7 thoughts on “What Do You Want to Do Before You Die?

Leave a Reply

