What Kind of Blogger Are You?

As I venture deeper into the blogger world, I find it difficult to figure out what kind of blogger I identify as. I know my header says Lifestyle, Fashion, and Beauty but it’s really hard to bunch up the stories of my life into one of those three categories.

From a PR perspective, in order to be a successful blogger, you’re going to need to have an expertise. That’s why your readers come to your website, right? To see what expert knowledge or advice you have on a particular topic. I just don’t want to lose myself in one of those three categories on my header, you know? I know that as a person, I am so much more than just narrow categories and perceptions. I’m a complex person. By subscribing to these titles, that I have given myself, I feel as though a very significant part of me is not being represented. That’s the danger of being only A Fashion Blogger.

Now this is no disrespect to the fashion blogger. Please, I wish I could be a professional/high-end fashion blogger. Who am I kidding, I could, right? Someone once told me that, we could do anything. So why can’t I be. This is just self-esteem and motivation that I need to build in myself in order to make it happen on my own.

I took this journey as a blogger not only to grow as a writer but also as a journey, and I can’t take this journey if I am squared away into three categories. Reader, don’t subscribe yourself into three categories as well. If i learned anything this year, it is that things are always denser than we like to make them out to be. Labels are comforting, but life is just so much more.

Image

2 thoughts on “What Kind of Blogger Are You?

Leave a Reply

