Music Review: Souled Out- Jhene Aiko

IMG_7700

On dreary and rainy days, like what I’ve been experiencing over the course of the past week, sometimes I don’t want heavy, pop music playing on my spotify playlist. You know those kind of songs that just vibe really well. And make you think about all the things going on in your life, and then help you make the hard decision to let go and live. If you are looking for some serious soul searching, you need to be listening to Jhene Aiko’s new album, Souled Out. I was listening to this yesterday while I was doing my homework, and I just could not concentrate the songs were so good.

I reviewed Jhene’s last album, Sail Out, and talked about how her music really gets me because she’s always very vulnerable and honest in her music. I know the summer is for fun pop music, and I love “radio music.” The Top 40 is my jam from May – September all the time. But it’s nice to know that there are still some young artist that are still so raw with their music and their lyrics. Jhene Aiko’s music reflects her past experiences with love, her daughter, and her brother who just recently passed away. For me, especially someone who know that kind of pain of losing a loved one, I connect with her album at the heart and I feel her words putting me at peace.

If you don’t have time to listen to the whole album (which I think you should) my personal favorites are Promises, Pretty Bird, Brave, and Spotless Mind. Clink on the link at the bottom of this post and let me know what you think of her album and if you loved it as much as I did!

Jhene Aiko – Souled Out (Deluxe)

Leave a Reply

